Mining newbie questions

Discuss everything related to earning and mining Bytecent.
Post Reply
rambonator
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 4:23 am

Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:58 am

Hello.
1. Bytecent 2.3.0 need Windows system to run. Which version? XP, Vista, 7, 8, 10, server 2003, server 2008, server 2012 or server 2016? 32 bit or 64 bit?
2. Is exist a limit of CPUs cores which Bytecent 2.3.0 will use to mining? Let's assume that i have 16 cores/32 threads CPU.
3. Is exist a limit of number of CPUs in single PC which Bytecent 2.3.0 will use to mining? Let's assume that i have 4 CPUs on 1 motherboard.
4. Is exist a limit of PCs which running at the same time on single wallet and IP address? Let's assume that i have 3 PCs.
5. Are Bytecent 2.3.0 using a special CPUs instructions like SSE, AVX, etc? So if I have not a cpu with this instruction i'll unable to start mining?
6. What speed of internet connection is recommended for mining?
7. How many internet data (in MB) is transfering on 1 hour when mining?
8. Bytecent synchronization take to much time... Is it a possible to speed up this action?
9. Is it a possible to make a copy of blocks of transaction history and save it on HDD somewhere? I don't want wait 2 days for synchro again after reinstallation of Bytecent program.

Christopher
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:52 pm

Mon Jul 03, 2017 8:10 am

1. Bytecent will run on Windows 7 and up.

2. There is not a limit in CPU cores, however there is a limit on how the PPS. However, you shouldn't have a problem with that.

3. No there isn't a CPU limit.

4. There is no longer a limit on how many PCs on one IP.

5. No.

6. The faster the better.

7. No idea.

8. Yes copy the blockchain data from one synced wallet to another.

9. Yes.

ChrisLandin
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:37 pm

Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:39 pm

Hey Chris.

I'm currently trying to continuously mine with my 5820K at 4ghz. After an hour or so it cuts out and says my cpu has passed its pps limit.

What can I do?

CheersChris

Christopher
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:52 pm

Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:15 am

Hello Chris,

You will need to add this to your conf file: genproclimit=x

x is the number of cores you want Bytecent to use. You will need to reduce the cores to prevent hitting the PPS limit. So if you have 16 cores you will need to put this genproclimit=15

Best,
Christopher

ChrisLandin
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:37 pm

Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:40 pm

Many thanks Chris.

I think ive done that now. If I get stuck I will holla

cheers

malek
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:44 am

Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:38 pm

hi guys,
I am newbie
what is your CPD ? I have only 0,6 - 07.
I have question, where is conf file, to put genproclimit=x ?

Christopher
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:52 pm

Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:56 pm

The location is: C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Roaming\Bytecent

malek
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:44 am

Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:34 am

Hello

I have one question more. Why I can mining only by 1 hour? Then the process of mining is stopped.

Christopher
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:52 pm

Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:37 pm

That is a feature of Bytecent. If you want to mine longer you need to have more Bytecent in your wallet.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest